Fog (i.e. Uncertainty)

One of the scariest things in life is uncertainty. How am I supposed to step forward when I can’t even see where I’m going? How do I know if my next step won’t be to my demise?

It’s a lot like fog. I’m sitting on my roof at 3am and I can’t really see more than a few hundred yards out because of the fog. I find myself thinking if that fog was over my building and I couldn’t see where I was walking. I could end up falling off of the edge of the building. But, does that mean I am supposed to stand still until I can see again? That could be hours. Likewise, am I supposed to stand still when I can’t see in front of me. Is it wise to take steps when you have no idea where they will lead? We can’t live life scared stiff but at the same time we can’t live life making reckless decisions. So where’s the line?

I was talking to a good friend and in a conversation about real life (life after school) he asked me if it gets better…if there is a light at the end of the tunnel. My response was that real life is kinda just like a dimly lit room we all stumble around in hoping to not fall on our faces. Sounds pretty pessimistic right? Maybe it is.

However, through all of that, I have Jesus. I have a savior that no matter what decision I make in this life, He is sovereign. But, does that mean we can make moves in this life and take steps without a clear calling? What is a clear calling? Is it a job? Is it a relationship(s)? What does it mean to practically follow God’s will? If I decide to take a step without a clear concrete confirmation from God, is it ok? Is He going to bless me in that? Should that blessing even be a concern to me because this life isn’t about me? How do I take the next step when I can’t see where it will take me?

Just thoughts…would love to hear feedback.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment